Two students working on their laptops

Report January - Türkbey Tanman

| Experience reports Türkbey Tanman

1. How did you celebrate the New Year’s Eve (where, with whom, what did you do)?

I hadn't made a plan for the new year, but later on my friend invited me to go to Bochum. We went to a hippie-style party in an old primary school. There was a different concept on each floor and in each room of the 3-floor building. There was a big campfire in the garden. I spent most of my time chatting with people around the campfire. It was the most interesting and fascinating event have ever experienced.

2. Do you have a part-time student job? Can you share your experiences (Where, how long did you search for a job, do you like it, does it agree with your courses, what is the hourly wage, are there any difficulties, etc.)?

After looking for a job for a long time, I started to work in a bar. Although standing up and the irregular working hours that I worked was a bit tiring at first, but I got used to it. The fact that I got along well with my colleagues and chief motivated me. I work as a waiter for 10-15 hours during the day depending on the weekday. I work until the morning at parties that are on Friday or Saturday evening. My hourly wage is 11 Euros and I can afford my expenses with my monthly fee and the tips.

3. Is it possible to study and work at the same time, or do you have difficulties with that?

Frankly, I could not run the two together due to some financial problems this period and I focused on the work. Although this has left me behind from my other friends, I have recently recovered my financial situation and will reduce my working hours or change my workplace in the coming period. In this way, I can concentrate on my classes.

4. Do you have any new hobbies and interests since living in Germany?

How do you spend your free time? The first time I came to Germany, the people who impressed me the most were the ones with bicycles, and after a while I bought myself a bicycle and this became one of my biggest hobbies. We rode 300-400 km long roads with a group of cyclists. My first journey pushed me very hard and I thought of giving up from time to time and going back by train, but after my friends motivating me during that journey I enjoyed being on the road a lot.

5. Do you attend all classes or are there any courses you have not attended? Is there any group project or work in the first semester? Is studying at FHWS different from your previous school?

Unfortunately, as I mentioned before, I could not attend all the classes or the school actively, so I was not involved in any project assignments or group work. From what I observed while studying at FHWS, I did not realize many differences from the colleges in Turkey. It offers a lot more opportunities for students and the system works more systematically and properly.

6. What are your monthly expenses? How much money is enough to live in your city?

My biggest expense in the month is my rent. And if you are in a small city, the rents are very variable due to the small number of houses. For example: It costs between 250-500 Euros. Rents are divided into ”Warmmiete” (including electricity, water, natural gas) and “Kaltmiete” (housing only). I live in an average house and my “Warmmiete” is 300 Euros. Apart from this, my kitchen expense is around 120-130 Euros per month, and I mostly cook at home. Another fixed monthly expense is the health insurance and I pay 100 Euros. Apart from these, I drink, eat, etc. with my friends so these are also some other expenses. On average, 700-800 Euros per month allows me to live comfortably.

7. What was the biggest challenge you've ever had in Germany?

The biggest challenge I had in Germany was the German proficiency test. After a year of language training, I took the language exam 3 times and failed it, and it affected me psychologically and I thought of going back home from time to time. Then I took a different opportunity and found myself as an FHWS student.

8. What is your favourite lesson in your study? Why?

Although I actively participated in the lessons, I followed my lessons online and my favourite lesson has been maths. That hasn't changed since childhood. After only trying to learn German for a long time, I was very happy when I found myself dealing with numerical lessons again.